Thatcham Security Certification
Thatcham Research has been at the forefront of vehicle security since the 1990s when it introduced the Thatcham Security Categories for Alarm and Immobiliser systems that is now established as an industry benchmark. Currently known as ‘Thatcham Security Certification’, the certification provides a robust verification programme to a minimum high level of performance concerning security, functionality, safety and reliability of aftermarket and vehicle manufacturer security products. Certified products are rigorously tested relative to identified risks set out by Thatcham Research security criteria.
Product Certification Criteria
  • Electronic Alarm and Immobiliser (Category 1) 
  • Electronic Immobiliser (Category 2) 
  • Electronic Alarm (Category 2-1) 
  • Wheel Locking Devices (Category 4) 
  • Vehicle Tracking Systems (Category S5) 
  • Asset Location Systems (Category S7) 

Vehicle Types 

  • Passenger Cars Light Commercial Vehicles 
  • Leisure and Caravan 
  • Motorcycles 
  • Plant and Agricultural 

Thatcham Research Certifications are monitored and reviewed on a biennial basis throughout the duration of the product certification, ensuring that the levels of functionality, performance, safety, and reliability are retained. 

Thatcham Security Certification does not guarantee insurer recognition as this is negotiated individually by the product manufacturer and their insurance partners.

Thatcham compliant Security devices

The Thatcham certification provides reassurance around the functionality, design and performance of alarms, immobilisers and tracking systems.

Privacy Policy & Terms of Use